ERRANDONNEE 11: Ticket to Ride

The Sisters have formed a team for AIDS/LifeCycle, a 545 mile ride from San Francisco to LA that benefits an AIDS charity in both cities.  Sunday was the LA party for “Ticket to Ride”, since each rider needs to raise at least $3,000 to participate.  I was there more as a Sister than as a rider, since I haven’t raised enough money yet to earn my “ticket.”  With only 10 weeks to go I don’t think I’ll be able to make that goal.  Fundraising may be a part of what we do, but it’s not my strong suit.  Selling raffle tickets or Jell-O shots is one thing, straight up asking for money is another.  (But if you were moved to donate: Sister Leigh)

The party was in Hollywood, just off Hollywood Boulevard with the Walk of Fame & all the wild people it attracts.  If you’re in to people watching – this is your place.  2,000 tourists, 10 Darth Vaders, 12 Spidermen, 2 Michael Jacksons & a partridge in a pear tree.  So a drag nun biking by wearing petticoats & a Sister Bertrille hat…not a big deal.

I gave them a bit of a hard time at the event, since there was no bike parking.  My cyclist rep’s response, “We didn’t expect anyone to ride their bikes here.”  And that’s LA for you.  Nobody expects you to ride your bike as a mode of transportation, even when it’s a party promoting a bike ride & you’ve invited 100+ cyclists.  Fortunately, I’m prepared for this and have an extra long u-lock for securing my Nunmobile (7-speed step-thru) to street signs.

Leave a Reply

